Thursday, April 8, 2010

Grand Tetons Barns at the base of the Tetons

The Teton Range of the Rocky Mountains is on the Wyoming side of the state's border with Idaho, just south of Yellowstone National Park. The principal summits of the central massif are the Grand Teton (13,770 ft), Mount Owen (12,928 ft), Teewinot (12,325 ft), Middle Teton (12,804 ft) and South Teton (12,514 ft). Most of the range is in Grand Teton National Park. The early French voyageurs used the name ‘les Trois Tétons’ (the three breasts) for this range that the Shoshone people once called the Teewinot, meaning ‘many pinnacles’.

No comments: